Protagonist of Color

My response to “More calls for books about non-white Children”   by Allison Flood on the guardian.

First let me start off by saying, I’m a Black-American. (I was not born in Africa and then came to the US, so I’m not “African-American” which is entirely a different discussion.) I’ve been seeing a lot of articles like this regarding people of color not being the protagonists of any books and actually being the minor characters of the book.

We-Need-Diverse-Books.jpg

All in all, we need more books of fiction with diverse characters. I would love to have readers be able to read where the protagonist is Black, Asian, Hispanic, or of any other race. Within YA writing, a group of friends are described all as European or Caucasian in the writers description. Why not portray a more accurate group of friends? These days, teenagers and young adult “clichés” contain a wide range of races (I’ve got Korean, Japanese, Spanish, Native American, Irish, and Caucasians within my group of friends growing up and now).

Being a  YA writer, I hope those who are searching for books such as these will enjoy my book.  I didn’t realize how big of an issue this really is right now. I just thought I wasn’t looking hard enough for books where the heroine was some other race besides European or Caucasian. Thanks to this article by the Guardian, it wasn’t because I wasn’t looking hard enough for these books they just didn’t exist!

 

 

Leave a Reply

