Belated 2017

 

This is my first “belated” post in the new year. The last couple of months have been pretty busy. I’ve graduated and currently in the job pool! Yay! Since I’ve walked across that gorgeous stage, I’ve been editing here and there.

I recently scrapped an entire chapter from Destiny of an Azurine. I know I’m crazy and I’ve ben saying this will be the year getting all these edits done, but I didn’t really realize how intricate this process can be with over 100,000 words. (Yes, I’m proud.) After taking a look at that chapter, I realize I really didn’t need it and could merge most of it to the next. It was too long, didn’t make any sense, and boring. I was bored!

During the day, I started reading my writing a loud, making notes, and improving the flow and storyline. Scrivener has really help me become much more organize with the plot, setting, and storyline. I have the mobile version too. So when I’m sitting in a waiting room, or a passenger in the car, I can pick up where I left off. I love it.
pexels-photo-30814.jpg

I’m editing every night add and subtracting to the overall WIP. Little changes, like ensuring consistency throughout my writing. If the writing isn’t consistent, then it ruins the overall  flow of the story, and the reader’s like, “Wait, I don’t know who that is,” or “I thought she had blonde hair.” The reader flips back to the part where the inconsistency lies.

Since this is the first and late post of in the new year, here are my writing goals:

  1. Finish editing Destiny of an Azurine by June 30, 2017.
  2. Participate in Camp Nano.
  3. Publish Destiny of an Azurine before December 31, 2017.

These are some pretty steep goals. With school done and out the way, I believe they are much more attainable. Discipline. Focus. Coffee. Those are all I need.

 

Keep Writing!

 

Leave a Reply

